With 13 out of 48 constituencies in Maharashtra voting today, Phase 5 signifies the conclusion of Lok Sabha polls in the state. Additionally, this phase marks the final round of voting in the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir, with one of their five constituencies participating. The Union Territory of Ladakh is also participating in this phase.

Phase 5 of the elections covers 8 States/Union Territories: Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal, including cities such as Mumbai, Thane, and Lucknow.

Acknowledging the previous phases' low turnout, the Election Commission urged voters to come out in greater numbers to polling stations and vote responsibly and proudly. According to the statement, "Until now, the Lok Sabha elections 2024 has seen the voter turnout at polling stations of about 66.95%. Around 451 million people have already voted during the first four phases of ongoing general elections."

All constituencies in and around Mumbai are voting today, along with 14 constituencies from Uttar Pradesh, including Lucknow, Raebareli, and Amethi.

Voter Turnout until 3 p.m.

As of 3 p.m., over 47% voter turnout was recorded in 49 constituencies across six states and two Union Territories during the fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections, amid sporadic incidents of violence in West Bengal and a poll boycott in a village in Uttar Pradesh. EVM glitches were also reported in some booths in Odisha and West Bengal.

Among these states and Union Territories, Maharashtra had the lowest voter turnout until 3 p.m., with 38.77% of voters exercising their franchise, while West Bengal recorded the highest percentage at 62.72%. Other states' turnout percentages were as follows: Bihar 45.33%, Jammu and Kashmir 44.90%, Jharkhand 53.90%, Odisha 48.95%, Uttar Pradesh 47.55%, and Ladakh 61.26%.

Mumbai's turnout low

Despite the presence of several Bollywood celebrities and industrialists at their designated polling booths, Mumbai witnessed a low voter turnout of 27.28% until 1 p.m. Voting continued in the city's six Lok Sabha constituencies, with turnout percentages at 1 p.m. as follows: Mumbai North 26.78%, Mumbai North Central 28.05%, Mumbai North East 28.82%, Mumbai North West 28.41%, Mumbai South 24.46%, and Mumbai South Central 27.21%.

Female Voters Lead in Baramulla

Jammu & Kashmir's Baramulla constituency saw a 35.01% voter turnout until 1 p.m., with female voters outnumbering male voters in many segments.

By 1 p.m., Jharkhand had achieved close to a 42% voter turnout, Bihar had experienced over 34% polling, Odisha had documented more than a 35% voter turnout, and Ladakh had surpassed a 52% voter turnout.

Follow us on Facebook, X, YouTube, Instagram and WhatsApp to never miss an update from Fortune India. To buy a copy, visit Amazon.